Skip to content

Time to Kiss and Make Up

November 7, 2010

I know that having a falling out with my kitchen is not unique. I know others go through periods of “I hate you!” with their kitchens and, even more likely, with the dishes that come with playing in the kitchen.

So I know I’m not alone.

A couple of weeks ago, I got back with the program and started making my version of comfort foods. Foods that I know I can make without much thought or concern about whether or not they’d come out okay. For me, that means baking Red Velvet Cupcakes, Cheese Crackers and a double-batch of Rosemary Cookies, and then – a few days later – making up a big pot of chili.

For some of y’all, this is the kind of kitchen time that’s a drop in the bucket. But, when you live on your own and have to rely on your love of leftover chili, and the knowledge that your friends and coworkers will happily eat a good chunk of your baked goods, this is a lot of food to make in short period of time. I ain’t whining though. (well, maybe just a little bit, because there are still all those freaking dishes to deal with, but i’ll deal)

Anyhow, I think I might officially be back on the “Oh! Of course I love spending hours and hours in my kitchen!” bandwagon.

Heck, I even had the urge to get in there and make something new yesterday. Course, that might have something to do with the fact that I just bought a couple more cookbooks while at Barnes & Noble… Hmm… Cause? Effect? Maybe.

Regardless of the cause and/or effect, I’m glad to want to be in the kitchen again. It’s a good feeling to kiss and make up with my kitchen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers

