Skip to content

Baked Cheesy Zucchini Chips

July 8, 2011

I have a confession.

I am obsessed with Pinterest.

If you’re not familiar with Pinterest, think of it as online styleboards or wishboards. Or like Tumblr lite for those of us who are over Tumblr. Pinterest is different though because it’s become a very useful place for me to collect my ideas for decorating my place, entertaining or dishes I’d like to make.

Enter… Zucchini Chips…

Baked Cheesy Zucchini Chips

In this case, the photo that caught my attention was a stack of these lovelies. Between that and the chance to have another reliable zucchini recipe, I was hooked.

The reality is that I loved this recipe. I sampled one right out of the oven and nearly ate the entire tray of them. I literally had to turn the oven on to the “keep warm” setting and put them back in the oven or they would’ve been gone before anyone else could have eaten them.

Below is my version of this recipe, which was modified from the recipe posted on Cinnamon Spice & Everything Nice. You should check out her recipe too because she included a dipping sauce that I never got around to making personally. I was too busy scarfing these down as is.

Also, one note, as hard it may be to believe, there were a handful of these leftover. I put them in a ziplock baggy, refrigerated them and then baked them again in my toaster oven the next night. Believe it or not, they were better. It was a texture thing for me. The second baking made them crisper without burning them, which I liked.

Oh… And be sure to check out Pinterest. It’s addictive, but worth it. You can find me here

Baked Cheesy Zucchini Chips
Serves two or three people as an appetizer (or one greedy person who doesn’t want to share)

One large or two small zucchini, sliced into thin rounds (skin on!) about 1/4 inch or thinner in thickness
1/3 cup skim milk
1 cup bread crumbs
1/2 cup fresh grated cheese like parmesan, manchego, san pietro or grana padano
1/8 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
(really, you can probably use just about any seasoning or spice you like best. just go easy on the salt since the types of cheeses listed sometimes have enough of a salty taste on their own)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Pour milk into a bowl. Combine bread crumbs, grated cheese, pepper and cayenne in a separate bowl.

Line a cookie sheet with foil (this will help with clean-up). Set oven-proof wire racks in the cookie sheet (this will help get the chips crisp on both sides without flipping them or losing breading). Spray wire racks and foiled cover cookie sheet with PAM Cooking Spray.*

Soak a few zucchini slices in the milk. Dredge each chip in the bread crumb/cheese mixture. You want to make sure there’s a good coating of bread crumbs and cheese on each slice. Set each slice on the wire racks. Repeat this over and over and over until all the slices have been dredged in the breading or until you run out of space on the cookie sheet.

Bake for about 30 minutes or so. You’ll want to pull the zucchini chips out of the oven when they start getting a nice, dark golden brown. Don’t leave ‘em in to long or the breading will burn.

These are best enjoyed right out of the oven when they’re good and hot.

Enjoy!

*Disclosure: I work at ConAgra Foods, where we make PAM Cooking Spray. For more information about my job, check out my Disclosure and About Me pages.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cookery For Two permalink
    February 16, 2012 7:50 am

    Hosting Game Night in the next two weeks – I think my guests would love these – thanks so much for sharing – something new I’ve never seen!

    ~ Cookery for Two

    http://cookeryfortwo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,428 other followers

