Skip to content

Prosecco & Raspberry Jam

December 31, 2012

Like so many other folks I know, I am addicted to magazines and cookbooks. No surprise there, really. Similarly, I’m sure I’m not the only one who rips out pages of magazines with the intention to make a recipe, buy a gift or to make a craft.

And what happens to all of those pages?

I rip out the page of a magazine with the best of inspired intentions. But I rarely do anything with them. And I know I can’t be alone in doing this. After all, isn’t this why we all love Pinterest?

But just the other day, a page in Saveur’s recent 100 most bestest things ever issue, there was a full page dedicated to adding preserves to cocktails (idea #56, page #49). And this struck me as beyond brilliant. And I did it. I did not let the page collect dust or get lost or get thrown out. Of course, this may have to do with the fact that this recipe could be as simple as mixing together two ingredients that I already like a lot and have in abundance.

So what did I do?

Simple. I stirred about a teaspoon of my cousin’s homemade raspberry jam into a generous glass of Prosecco.

And wham-o! A bubbly cocktail! With jam!

And, lest you be thinking, “But all those seeds?!” Have no fear. They sank to the bottom of the glass. I won’t pretend to understand why that happened, but it did and I didn’t have any seeds between my teeth. And, really, isn’t getting a mimosa with orange juice in it worse than a few raspberry seeds?

One note, you’ll probably want a jam that is very easy to stir so that you don’t stir the bubbles out of the Prosecco when you mix the jam in. ┬áBut it’s a personal choice. Kind of liking choosing to have a mimosa that actually has orange juice in it (really? orange juice? why? just drink the prosecco, no orange juice.).

Regardless, I feel that it’s important to double-check that the Prosecco and Raspberry Jam combination is as good as I think it was. And maybe I’ll test some of my bourbon with a touch of marmalade or peach preserves. You know, so that I can say that I fully explored this concept and got the most out of that ripped out magazine page.

Happy New Year!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amber | Bluebonnets & Brownies permalink
    January 1, 2013 3:54 pm

    Yum! I never thought to mix jam into a cocktail. I like my cocktails on the sweet side, so this is an excellent thing for me. Happy New Year, friend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers

