Skip to content

Beet, Avocado & Endive Salad

February 27, 2010

One of the things I enjoy about the food community is finding new foods, recipes and cooking ideas. I have more than my fair share of cookbooks, but seeing what others are making shakes things up for me and inspires me to go beyond my own tried-and-true recipes.

Beet, Avocado & Endive Salad

In this case, I saw a salad Elise at Cowgirl Chef had made for herself, and I had to follow suit. To be honest, I was a wee might bit worried about using raw beets. As a kid, I would eat entire jars of my mom’s pickled beets in a single sitting, but we never ate raw beets that I can recall.

Anyhow, Elise officially inspired me and I can’t thank her enough for sharing her recipe for Beet, Avocado & Endive Salad. Raw beets and this recipe will officially be joining my tried-and-true collection.

As you peruse her recipe, keep in mind that you can do what I did and use pecans instead of walnuts, and toss in some yellow beets for even more color. Her recipe for the dressing is great, but I also tried this salad with Girard’s Champagne Dressing when I made the salad a second time. (yes, a second time. that’s how much i liked it.)

Beet, Avocado & Endive Salad
(from CowgirlChef.com)

2 large beets, cut in 2-inch chunks (I used red and yellow beets)
1 avocado, cut in 2-inch chunks
1 endive, 1/2-inch slices
4 ounces walnuts, roasted (I used pecans)
4 ounces goat cheese, crumbled
1 recipe Dijon vinaigrette, recipe below

Mix all ingredients together and gently toss. Let sit at room temperature for 15 minutes, at least, before serving.

Dijon Vinaigrette

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
teaspoon shallots, minced (I skipped this, because I didn’t have any on hand)
1 teaspoon fresh herbs, such as thyme, basil, parsley, chopped (I used basil)
salt
pepper
2/3 cup olive oil

Whisk all ingredients except the olive together in a large bowl. Add the olive oil and whisk until thoroughly combined.

Leftover dressing can be refrigerated, but you’ll have to bring it back to room temperature next time you use it. I did this by setting the dressing container in some warm water for a few minutes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 2:06 pm

    I love beets and avocado together. Such a great-sounding salad.

  2. February 27, 2010 2:21 pm

    Whoo-hoo! Love the yellow beets and the pecans! So glad that you liked the recipe. xx

Leave a Reply

