Skip to content

Crab Dip Recipes: Two ways to go about it

March 8, 2010

As a Southern girl of the Texas variety, you’d think that I’d have a family recipe for crab dip. But nope. I don’t. My family’s recipes have a tendency to fall into the breakfast, dinner and dessert categories. Not too shabby, quite frankly, especially when I get to count the family recipe for chocolate gravy and biscuits among my collection.

However, I’m a nibbler and love dips. Lucky for me, I own nigh own to five bazillion cookbooks, which gives me a good start on maybe finding my own favorite crab dip recipe. So far, I’ve tried out two recipes worth typing about.

Crab Dip Supreme: Four Thumbs Up!

For the first recipe, I used my aunt and cousin as guinea pigs. Not only did they like the recipe, Crab Dip Supreme from Johnnie Gabriel’s (Paula Deen’s cousin!) Cooking in the South, they gave it a collective four thumbs up. If I’d been smart enough, I would have set up the camera so that we could’ve given it six thumbs up. We basically demolished this in one fell swoop while I made supper.

The second recipe comes from The Lees Bros. Southern Cookbook. My guinea pigs in this case, a couple of girlfriends visiting me for brunch, were less fond of this dip. I liked it, but this recipe was definitely better after it’d had time for the flavors to blend. In fact, while it wasn’t a brunch success, I ate just about all of it for dinner that same day.

Personally, I like both of these recipes, but I think I might have to try a few more versions before I settle down and add a crab dip recipe to the permanent collection. Such a sacrifice on my part… (ha!)

Crab Dip Supreme
(from Cooking in the South)

1 8oz package of cream cheese or neuchâtel cheese
2 tablespoons of milk
1 tablespoon of horseradish
2 tablespoons minced scallions or green onions
8oz fresh crabmeat or canned crabmeat (Whole Foods has a good brand when you’re in a pinch or if you’re as lazy as me)
2 oz sliced almonds, toasted (I skipped these, but think they’d be okay)
Paprika

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat a small dish with PAM Cooking Spray.

Mix the cream cheese, milk and horseradish in a small bowl. A hand-held mixer makes this step much easier. Stir in the minced green onions. Fold in the crabmeat.

Evenly spoon the crab mixture into the baking dish. Sprinkle with paprika and (optional) the almonds.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Serve with crackers while hot.

Lee Bros. Crab Dip

A New Crab Dip
(from The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook)

6 oz crabmeat (yes, I cheated I used canned stuff from Whole Foods again)
3 tablespoons Hellman’s
2 tablespoons lime juice
3 tablespoons finely diced purple onion (technically, “red” onion, but c’mon, it’s purple, not red)
1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh tarragon
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

Mix all of the ingredients together. Let it set for a while so all the flavors blend together. Serve with crackers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

