Skip to content

Tuesday Trivia: A Taste of Home

March 9, 2010

What’s the best way to cure homesickness?

As kid and as an adult, I’ve spent a lot of time away from home.

As a kid, I would spend part of the summer and the holidays visiting my grandma and pappy. The first couple of days were always a bit tough on the homesickness front because I was (am?), admittedly, a momma’s girl. However, the familiar routines of helping my grandma around her grocery store soon helped me settle in and eased the ache of being homesick. This included doing things like stocking shelves, bagging groceries, ringing up customers, sorting coupons and other assorted fun projects around the store.

Hey, no one said I was ever a normal kid.

Actually, helping out in the grocery store really was fun for me. It was a hub of activity and, if I asked real nice, I could crack open a fresh box of ice cream treats (hello Drumsticks!) or lay claim to some fruit or a candy bar and a comic book. Not a bad bargain at the ripe ol’ age of 10.

Now that I’m all grown up and have been living on my own for a while, homesickness is a more complicated matter.

In the back of my mind, there’s almost always a low-grade hum of homesickness for my family and Texas. As an added layer, I also experience waves of homesickness for my friends and life in DC, where I lived for just shy of eight years. And, oddly enough, I also experience a rare pang of homesickness for London, where I lived for a brief time while doing a semester abroad.

In all three cases, I almost always “cure” my homesickness with food and drink, which are associated with some of my most favorite memories. For example, when I want to feel close to my family in Texas, I’ll fix up a batch of pinto beans and cornbread. If I want to feel close to my DC home, then I host a dinner party. As for London, I cure that bout of homesickness by going out to a pub and having a pint of Bass Ale.

I have other homesick cures, but as someone who grew surrounded by food (lived on farm, grew up in a grocery store, lived in a B&B, etc.) is it any surprise that my go-to, most-reliable cures are food related?

No. I didn’t think so.

*The source of Tuesday Trivia is my set of “Travel Topics To Go” cards. Learn more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 4:59 pm

    I never knew that you actually used to work in a grocery store. That sounds like so much fun. Oops, guess I’m not “normal” either! :)

    What if you live in your hometown and have never left? I experience a different kind of homesickness altogether in that sometimes, I’m totally sick of my home.

  2. thecosmiccowgirl permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:12 pm

    awww…girl. you need to come home to texas!

  3. March 10, 2010 8:06 am

    Stacey – If you never left your hometown? I recommend running away to someplace tropical every once in a while. =)

    cosmiccowgirl – I’m working on it. In fact, I have a handy list of Austin’s breakfast joints to try on my next trip. Yay!

Leave a Reply

