Skip to content

Homemade Caesar Salad

March 25, 2010

A few months ago, I picked up a copy of Cuisine. It had this pretty cover and was a tantalizingly new choice among the food magazines at my Barnes & Noble.

Turns out it’s a New Zealand cooking magazine that is exported to my Barnes & Noble. But only sometimes. So far, I can’t figure out the pattern for fun magazine imports. And, I just learned that Lisa over at Lisa Is Cooking has found a newer issue than mine. Clearly, I need to speak to the manager at my Barnes & Noble about this unacceptable situation. I demand my fancy, imported magazine!

Anyhow… The one issue of Cuisine that I’ve been able to get my hands on so far has been a fun read for the differences in food preferences, word choices and whathaveyou as compared to U.S. magazines. If I’m not going to be traveling to New Zealand anytime soon, this is a fun way to get a peek into the food culture there.

One of the features was an article about classic foods. Among the choices was a recipe for Caesar Salad. I don’t know about you, but I have a go-to, too-tired-to-think-let-alone-pick-food option for when I’m traveling. And it’s Caesar Salad.

Homemade Caesar Salad

However, I’ve never actually made my own Caesar Salad … until now.
Now, please do not scold me for picking Caesar Salad as my first post to represent this international magazine. Inspiration for trying new things comes from all sources. And, thanks to this magazine, it’s much more likely that I’ll be making my own Caesar Salad again in the near future.

I do promise, however, to make something else from Cuisine. I’m not sure what, but I’ll pick something more creative and/or representative of the magazine.

If you are not completely offended by my recipe choice and are curious to try it yourself, I’ve included it below.

A couple of notes about this recipe. It calls for anchovy fillets, which I didn’t use because I wasn’t certain if wanted to invest in a whole container of them if I didn’t like the base recipe and then have them go bad or whatever it is that happens to anchovies after you’ve opened the container.

The cherry tomatoes in the picture are optional too. I liked the extra color for the picture and the extra flavor just because I like cherry tomatoes.

Caesar Salad (makes about 4 servings)
(from Issue 134 of Cuisine)

4 slices of day old bread, cut into crouton sizes
olive oil
3 cloves garlic
pinch of salt
2 egg yolks
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon lemon juice (I used juice of half a lemon)
6 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
60 grams fresh grated parmesan, plus more to top the salad
freshly ground black pepper
1 large head of romaine lettuce (or cos lettuce as it was called in this magazine
8 anchovy fillets

Toss the crouton-sized bits of bread in enough olive oil to coat them a bit. I used maybe a tablespoon or so. Spread evenly on a cookie sheet and bake at 450 until nice and crispy. You’ll need to pull them out half way through baking them to turn ’em so they’re evenly toasted. Rather than firing up my oven, I baked mine in the toaster oven. You can also fry these on the stove, which is what the original recipe recommended.

Roughly chop the garlic cloves on a sturdy cutting board. Sprinkle with kosher salt. Using the flat of your knife, smash the garlic and salt together until it forms a paste consistency. If you’ve ever watched a Bobby Flay cooking show, you’ve probably seen him do this.

Transfer the garlic paste to a bowl. Whisk in the egg yolks, Worcestershire sauce and lemon juice. Next, in a steady stream, whisk in the olive oil. Stir in the grated parmesan. The recipe called for 60 grams, but I didn’t convert the measurement. I figured a tablespoon or two would be sufficient for my taste. Next, grind in some black pepper.

Toss the dressing with romaine lettuce leaves that have been washed, drained dry and torn into bite-size pieces. Serve on plates or bowls as you wish. Top with more fresh grated parmesan, maybe some cherry tomatoes and the anchovy fillets too.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 11:16 pm

    Would you like me to source that mag for you? Looks yummy!

    • March 26, 2010 8:43 am

      That is oh so very tempting! Between Donna Hay (which we can get here) and Cuisine, the magazines from your neck of the woods are so nice.

Leave a Reply

