Skip to content

The Simple Things: Beets and Pears and Goat Cheese

April 1, 2010

Thanks to Ellise over at CowgirlChef.com, I have a renewed love of beets.

I say renewed because when I was little my Mom canned beets, and I would eat entire jars of my Mom’s beets in one fell swoop.

Sorta Simple Sandwich: Roasted Beets, Pears & Goat Cheese

Somewhere along the way, I strayed from my love affair with beets. I blame my Mom since she stopped canning beets at some point. (please don’t be mad at me Mom!) And while they’ll do in an absolute emergency, store-bought beets just don’t measure up. So, I stopped eating beets.

Anyhow, Ellise’s recipe for Beet, Avocado and Endive Salad brought me back to beets and my love of them.

After perusing my copy of the Southern Farmers Market Cookbook and not being able to settle on any one dish, I decided to cobble something together on my own using the directions for roasting beets for a salad featured in the cookbook.

This is a relatively simple dinner. The hardest part is roasting the beets and slicing the beets and pears without cutting yourself.

Personally, I made this after a stinking long day at the office. While the beets roasted, I unwound with a cocktail and wrote cards to family and friends. By the time the beets were done, I was ready to enjoy my dinner. Even better, the dishes were minimal. Just the thing after a long day.

Open-Faced Beets & Pears Sandwich

3 medium-sized beets, ends chopped off and scrubbed clean
1 or 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 pear (I used a Bosc pear) cored and thinly sliced
goat cheese
slices of fresh Italian bread (toasted or not, your preference)
fresh cracked pepper

Heat the oven to 425 degrees.

Toss the whole beets in with the olive oil, coating them well. Place them on a cookie sheet on their ends so they don’t roll around. Roast for about 60 minutes or until fork tender.

When cool enough to handle, peel off the out layer of what will likely be slightly charred skin. Slice the beets. Set aside for a minute or three.

Clean your pear off. Quarter it, core it and slice it. I recommend slices that are about the same thickness as your beet slices. Set those aside for a minute or two.

Spread the goat cheese on your slices of Italian bread. If you like goat cheese, don’t be shy with it. I wound up smearing more goat cheese on top of my little open-faced sandwiches.

Anyhow…

Top the goat cheese with the slices of pear and then slices of beets. Or vice versa. Sprinkle the whole shebang with some of the cracked pepper.

As you can tell from my picture, I like cracked pepper. You use as much as like, even if it’s none at all.

And that’s it!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

