Skip to content

Angel Food Cake

May 2, 2010

Last weekend, I decided to tackle angel food cake for the first time.

The whole reason for making angel food cake? I had some strawberries that had gone a bit south and were better suited to strawberry sauce than being eaten as is. Sound reasoning, in my books.

Granted, I could’ve made shortcakes in far less time and with far less effort, but I wanted to try a new-to-me recipe. Plus, while I have some vague memories of enjoying my Mom’s angel food cake, I can’t even remember the last time I had had any.

Perfectly Beaten Egg Whites

Aside from the mess of cracking and separating so many eggs, I was surprised by how easy it was to make an angel food cake. I was even more surprised when I managed to actually coax the egg whites into foamy, stiff peaks on the first try. Honestly, at this particular step, I had fully expected for something to go horribly awry and to have to start all over again.

Instead, everything went just like it was supposed to. Even my decision to add rainbow sprinkles to the batter didn’t cause any havoc. Although, there was a moment when I worried that the egg whites were going to foam right up and over the top of the bowl.

The hardest part of the angel food cake making process was the waiting.

Angel Food Cake: Waiting an hour for cake is horrid

Waiting an hour for the cake to cool upside down in its pan was almost more than I could stand. I managed though. Just barely. And a rum and Coke may or may not have been partially responsible for my patience.

The wait was worth it though. The cake was pretty good. The strawberry sauce on the cake was just what I wanted and the rainbow sprinkles made it even better.

But I will have to try the recipe again because I think I might’ve baked it about five minutes too long. I’m still going to call this a success since I managed to get it 99.5 percent right the first time around, and that’s definitely more than I was expecting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:43 pm

    Angel food cake is one of my favorites!! My mom has a frigging incredible coffee angel food cake recipe that I will share and then immediately stop talking about due to the fact that I am going to the beach in three weeks and at the moment am trying desperately to be satisfied by a handful of almonds.

Leave a Reply

