Skip to content

Carrot Cake Fail

May 20, 2010

A friend asked me to find a carrot cake recipe for her birthday cake.

I don’t have a tried-and-true recipe for carrot cake.

This means I need to do some experimenting. My first experiment was this past weekend.

My official take on the end product: Meh…

The short story: The recipe failed because it didn’t meet my expectations of what a carrot cake should be.

The long story is that I should’ve known this cake was going to fail since the recipe made no reference to frosting. I gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt though. Because, after all, who would eat carrot cake that doesn’t have cream cheese frosting?

Carrot Cake Experiments: A very messy business

Well, apparently, there are some individuals (whom i do not trust) who eat carrot cake without cream cheese frosting because this cake was not frosting friendly. Any attempt to slather cream cheese frosting on it met with resistance.

This was too much for me to deal with. As you can see from the picture accompanying this post, I gave up. I couldn’t justify wasting any more frosting on a cake that might or might not be worth the frosting. You can also see that I make one mell of a hess when baking.

So I’m sure it comes as no surprise that my first sampling of the cake led me to declare it to be not just “meh,” but “bleh.” It seemed not quite done.

I tried it again a couple of hours later. It seemed a little better. But the frosting still kept separating from it. Same problem when I sampled it again today.

Now, my cake philosophy is that cake is merely a carrier for frosting. But when the frosting separates entirely from the cake, there’s something wrong.

So, for my friend, I will try again. The next recipe on the roster comes with a cream cheese frosting recipe too. I have high hopes for it. (knock on wood!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Lou Johnson permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:34 am

    You know what they say, if you don’t succeed, try, try again. I’m proud of all your success!!
    Grandma.

  2. Bridg permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:44 am

    I’m thinking this is why I never attempted this on my own. Good luck with the next trial. Until then, I’ll wait for carrot cake perfection…yum, yum!

  3. May 20, 2010 10:56 am

    I feel so inspired by this post! Next time I have a less-than-successful dish, I’ll have to shoot and post about it!

    You get an A for effort! :)

  4. May 20, 2010 4:14 pm

    Grandma Mary Lou – Thank you! If my family is proud of what I do here, then that’s what matters most to me.

    Bridg – I will keep trying. I promise.

    Stacey – Yay! I think it’s so easy to cover up our failures in the kitchen, but it’s part and parcel of finding the right recipe.

  5. May 20, 2010 4:16 pm

    My two most fave cakes in the world happen to be Carrot Cake (when done amazingly well with all the bells & whistles) and Italian Cream Cake. Though I’m not a huge frosting fan of other cakes usually, both of these particular cakes must have the frosting to be complete. Steph you rock! Keep baking til you get it right.

  6. Mom permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:43 am

    I’m so proud of you daughter. To put that cake on the website for all to see…..Brave. But if you want I do have the carrot cake to die for. You go get’em in the baking dept.

    Mom

    • May 21, 2010 11:05 am

      Mom! I can’t go to the bakery! I am determined to make it myself. =)

Leave a Reply

