Skip to content

Dinner Planning Failure

June 29, 2010

Do you ever wonder if the Fates are trying to tell you something?

I haven’t reached the point of actually questioning the Fates yet, but I am raising an eyebrow in the direction.

On Sunday, I decided to not make a shopping trip to Kansas City (a five-hour, roundtrip drive, plus or minus depending on the presence of cops on the highways) in part because I wanted to make a jambalaya or gumbo or something using my homemade shrimp stock.

One thing led to another and I ran out of time to make anything with the shrimp stock. But I had earmarked several recipe contenders, with Virginia Willis’ Seafood Gumbo leading the pack. I told myself I’d have plenty of time to make something tonight.

Tonight, I came home, re-read the ingredient list. Chopped my veggies. Seasoned my shrimp. And then, as I re-read the directions themselves, I realized my planning skills had failed me. Again.

To make Virginia Willis’ Seafood Gumbo properly, you need about 2 1/2 hours to let it all simmer. Not to mention the time it takes to make a proper roux.

Gah!

I flipped through a few other recipes. None of them were appealing to me tonight or they required a similar amount of time I can’t afford to put into a dish because of the hour and – more pressing – my growling stomach.

While I may have failed at putting the right plans in place for making this particular version of Seafood Gumbo, I can be awfully resourceful.

With the holy trinity of veggies chopped up, shrimp that has to be used or else, and an empty stomach, I turned to my cupboard where I keep a supply of Zatarain’s on hand at all times. I’ve been a fan of Zatarain’s jambalaya for several years now. They’re great for making a fast dinner. Even better, they’re very amenable to being doctored up, which I always do. (what? don’t tell me you follow the directions on mixes verbatim? if so, we need to have a chat.)

Of course, my love of Zatarain’s isn’t at all influenced by the fact that the husband of one of my best friends works for Zatarain’s and even sends me goody boxes on occasion. Nope. Not at all. I promise. I liked Zatarain’s well before he joined Zatarain’s. It’s just an awesome bonus for me that he does.

As for the Fates, my eyebrow is still raised their direction. Even if the odds are they’d just tell me it’s my own darned fault that I didn’t read the recipe more closely. To that, I say a hearty, “Pffft!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:17 pm

    Mom always told ya……reading is a girl…cook’s best friend.. Honey you know that!! Zatarain’s is the best out there. I amso Proud of Ya……MOM

  2. Mom permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:19 pm

    P.S. I am not gonna comment on the trip too KC or about the Cops there in……But dont me come up there!!!!!!!

  3. Mary Lou Johnson permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:38 am

    You cannot do all things good all the time, you have to have a mess up to appreciate the good times!! You’re doing good and I am proud of you.

    Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

