Skip to content

The Zucchini Hash Browns formerly known as Zucchini Pancakes

July 10, 2010

Introductory Note: By way of confession, I’d like to tell y’all that I almost didn’t tell the truth about this one. I actually considered omitting the facts about the actual production of this dish. But, I didn’t. The Kitchen Trials is all about successes and failures in the kitchen. In this round, I’d call the battle of me vs. the kitchen a draw in this round. And now, on to the rest of this update…

A couple of weeks ago, I came across a recipe for zucchini pancakes that sounded so easy and so good that I immediately bookmarked them to be made as soon as possible.

Zucchini Hash Browns: A new name and careful plating covers up a multitude of sins.

I was even more intrigued when someone described them as being very hash brown like. And, in my world, hash browns made with zucchini equals healthy. What a bonus!

Well, a trip to the farmers market provided me with the key ingredient and curiosity drove me to make these pancakes pronto. Everything went just fine until I got the part where I had to fry the zucchini pancake batter into pancakes. From that point on, it was downhill into a burnt, stuck-to-the-pan, get-a-new-pan-out, curse-the-old-pan mess.

I have a few theories as to why this went so badly for me. 1) User error. 2) The pan was too hot. 3) I didn’t put enough oil in the pan to prevent the zucchini pancakes from sticking. 4) I made the zucchini pancake too big. 5) The first pan I used sucks and shouldn’t be used for anything ever and should be thrown away pronto.

Personally, I like theory number five best. Although, there may be some merit to the others. However, please feel free to pass your judgment on the possible causes of this cooking impasse. Photographic evidence is presented below.

Gah! Just look at that mess. Stupid pan.

In the end, I did manage to salvage some of the zucchini pancake fixin’s and used a different, better pan to fry ’em up a bit. But I think it was a lost cause by that point.

Although, artful arrangement on the plate kind of, sort of covers up the ugliness of my zucchini pancakes. They tasted fine. Not my favorite thing, and I’m sure I’d like them a lot more if someone else made them for me.

But do not let my failure deter you. Be sure to mosey over to Soupbelly.com. They seem to know what they’re doing… I mean, have a much better pan than I do.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Lou Johnson permalink
    July 10, 2010 10:24 pm

    You do need a good frying pan or griddle, it is possible you had your pan too hot, spray it good with some cooking spray. Just dip your little quarter cup measuring cup in for your pancake batter and measure it out, then they won’t be too big. Just remember nothing ventured is nothing accomplished. Your are doing good and I am proud of you. Love you.
    Grandma.

  2. July 27, 2010 8:09 am

    This is hilarious… and makes me fell better because I have similar disasters on a regular basis! Thank you for sharing your trials! (and by the way, I actually think the problem is the recipe – not you or your pan! First off, I’d try to press as much liquid as possible out of the zucchini before adding it to the other ingrediants, and then I’d also add an egg – helps stuff stay together)

    • July 27, 2010 8:33 am

      Thanks! You know what else makes this type of dish better? Frying! But, then again, what isn’t made better when fried? More on the latest zucchini adventure soon. =)

  3. July 29, 2010 11:37 am

    My hub makes zucchini pancakes like this and they’re pretty good (I do think it’s the pan btw) but even better are his beet pancakes! OH MY. As a total non-cook, I appreciate real cooks like you messing up every once in a while. It makes me feel better about myself.

    • July 29, 2010 5:27 pm

      I’m a real cook? That is a fabulous compliment. Thanks! And I’m happy to share my failures. Quite frankly, they’re probably way more fun. Not more fun than Red Velvet Cupcakes, but way fun nonetheless. =)

Leave a Reply

