Skip to content

Zucchini Fritters

August 1, 2010

Zucchini pancakes? Not my finest moment, even if the remains did make an excellent serving or two of zucchini hash browns.

This “failure” in the kitchen did not deter me. In fact, it made me a little more determined to kick zucchini keister.

Zucchini fritters: This is what you get when you listen to the kitchen gods

In this, the kitchen gods must’ve been on my side. Otherwise, why would Saveur have a lovely recipe for Zucchini Fritters in the August/September issue? Clearly, this was a sign just for me. And, smart cookie that I am, I listened to what the kitchen gods were saying.

Or, I could be really boring and acknowledge that this is the season of zucchini over-abundance and that a zucchini recipe was almost inevitable. But I mean, that version of the story is so freaking boring that it could make a person cry.

Whatever version of this story you might like better, the reality is that the Zucchini Fritters recipe is an easy one. Delicious too. I did tweak the recipe a bit though to use ingredients I already had at home. I substituted fresh thyme for the flat-lead parsley, and Manchego for Pecorino Romano.

If you’re going to make these, you should also remember something about frying something that contains an ingredient like shredded zucchini.

The directions say to wring out the shredded zucchini after letting it drain for a while. My advice? When you think you’ve wrung the last bit of moisture out of the zucchini shreds, rearrange the shreds on a dry towel (cloth or paper) and wring ’em again.

Zucchini fritter batter

You want the zucchini to be as dry as it can reasonably get because, if water and oil don’t mix, then water and hot oil are about a 100 times less likely to mix. In fact, if there’s too much moisture in your fritters, the oil might boil up and over the top of the pot.

And, if you’re wondering, yes, this happened to me. But only during one of the batches! And it likely was the result of the oil getting too hot as well as not having wrung the zucchini out just a smidgen bit more.

Regardless, the end product was great. I ate several of the fritters as soon as they’d cooled off enough to eat without burning my mouth. I served the leftovers for dinner the next night. For the leftovers, I simply reheated them by tossing them in my toaster oven for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees and served them with a bit of hummus.

The original recipe is on Saveur’s website. If you make them with no changes or with your own substitutions, you’ll have to tell me how they turn out.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 11:18 am

    Yum yum yum! I had an appetizer almost exactly like this at Clyde’s Willow Creek Farm last night. To. Die. For. Congrats on your eventual dominance over zucchini! :)

  2. August 1, 2010 11:45 am

    Yes! These look incredible, and congrats on kicking some zucchini bottom. And I love that you reheat in the toaster, too! So do I. When I made zucchini pancakes awhile back, I let not one go to waste – I popped them in the toaster and called it dinner…until they were no more.

  3. August 1, 2010 11:55 am

    Stacey & Cowgirl Chef – Thank you. Kicking zucchini keister is a proud moment for me. =)

  4. BettyCrockerMom permalink
    August 1, 2010 12:28 pm

    You do make a Mom “Proud”!! Kicking butt like that, never once were you afraid of the green zucchini. I must admit I still worry about you with “HOT” oil, but I’ll just bite my tongue an do the chicken dance around the center island, with my spoon “Baby”. That way your well protected.
    The zucchini fritter’s really dolook good, so I a sure that they tasted even better then they looked. Great going !!

    Love Mom

  5. August 2, 2010 10:13 am

    I want some fritters! Next pile of zucchini I find on my kitchen counter is being used for these. Can’t wait!

  6. August 2, 2010 10:33 am

    Fritters. That’s a funny word. Haha, your fritters looks tasty and savoury. Of course, the kitchen gods must always be obeyed.

  7. Cookery For Two permalink
    February 16, 2012 7:51 am

    My dad used to make these when we were younger – You’ve reminded me of an old time favorite and inspired me to try making them on my own – thanks for sharing!

    ~ Cookery for Two

    http://cookeryfortwo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

