Skip to content

Tuesday Trivia: Cloudgazer

August 3, 2010

What do you like to ponder while gazing at the clouds?*

I don’t really “ponder” much. Instead, I spend the time trying to find shapes in the clouds. More often than not, I see animals like bunnies, turtles, dragons, unicorns and more. In fact, I just took a moment to peek out the window and right away saw a bunny, a donkey and a fire-breathing dragon head.**

I try to make a point of gazing up at the clouds whenever I can. I find that it keeps my imagination a little more lively. (oh! I just saw a dog-headed dragon turn into a pony’s backside!) Although, I do wonder at the fact that I almost always see animals of the real and/or make-believe varieties. Never food. Considering how often food is on my mind, the refusal to see food in clouds seems odd. Anyhow, moving along…

 

Seattle: Cloud gazing and seeing a ... monster squid!

I do get to spend a lot of time staring at the clouds. And, living in Nebraska, where the summer days are as long as they are, I can be pretty confident that I’ll be walking home in the daylight a good chunk of the time. This means I get to leave work behind for a bit while I walk and stare at the sky and clouds. (eagle!) So long as I’m not wearing heels, I can typically look up at the sky during the walk. (mr. snuffleupagus! anteater!)

And for those of us who live in cities, cloud gazing is a nice alternative to star gazing, which can be difficult with all the light pollution. (yikes! scary clown!)

No matter what though, I think it’s important to take time to look up and imagine what’s there among the clouds, and to enjoy the sense of wonder. (look! a genie! make a wish!)

*The source of Tuesday Trivia is my set of “Travel Topics Picnic” cards.
**Today’s Tuesday Trivia was actually written on Sunday, Aug. 1, from the comfort of my couch, which is right next to a GINORMOUS window perfect for cloud gazing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

