Skip to content

Virginia Willis’ Corn Chowder

August 4, 2010

‘Tis the season of vegetable abundance; and I am lucky enough to live just a very few blocks away from the Omaha Farmers Market, one of the bigger and better farmers markets in the area.

Since I live in Nebraska and on the border of Iowa, it should come as no surprise that corn is particularly abundant. This time of year, there’s hardly a stand that doesn’t carry corn.

Please do not mistake this for a complaint. I love fresh corn. Love it.

Corn chowder topped with fresh tomato garnish

Last year, I grilled corn (and more) while visiting my Grandma Mary Lou. It was awesome. If I lived somewhere with my own grill, I’d probably spend half the summer with burgers and corn on the grill. (note to self: do NOT move again unless the new place comes with a grill friendly patio and/or yard. and a pool. gotta have a pool too.)

Lacking a grill of my own though, I have found other ways to enjoy the abundance of corn available to me. When feeling lazy, I simply slice the kernels off the cobs, toss them with olive oil, salt, pepper and chili powder, and roast them in my toaster oven. I sometimes add chopped tomatoes, which also are available at the farmers market in quantities that nearly defy the imagination.

Roasted corn and tomatoes are simple and delicious. And roasting it all in the toaster oven means my kitchen doesn’t become an inferno.

Beyond my trusty little toaster over, I have Virginia Willis’ Bon Appetit, Y’all to make my summer cooking even better.

Ms. Willis‘ recipe for corn chowder is straight forward. It’s focus is on the corn, as it should be.

In fact, I particularly liked that her recipe included directions to simmer the cleaned cobs in chicken stock. It is such a simple step, but it definitely made me wonder why I’d simply been tossing out all those other corn cobs before. Poor little corn cobs, wasted before they could give their all to my dinners. (note: don’t worry, i wouldn’t use corn cobs like this after gnawing the kernels off. only after cutting them off.)

Corn cobs make corn chowder even better

Ms. Willis’ recipe also includes a fresh tomato garnish. Do not skip this step. In fact, I recommend you double the recipe. After I took a taste-test bite of this garnish, I wound up eating most of it straight out of the mixing bowl. So I had to make more. Thank goodness I bought more tomatoes than I thought I would need.

Anyhow, if you don’t already have Ms. Willis’ cookbook, then go out and get it pronto. I have bookmarked an abundance of recipes to try, and I can’t wait to do so – especially since I’m sure I’ll be able to use my farmers market finds for a good lot of them.

Now… On a slightly different note, I’d like to say a word about the glass I used for the photo above. This is a glass from my Dranny’s collection. On a recent visit, I made off like a bandit with these glasses, which are part of many fond childhood memories. Thank you Dranny for turning a blind eye while I toted these out to my car. =)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 11:09 am

    Thanks SO much for your kind words. I am thrilled you like my recipe for corn chowder. Let me know what else you try – I love the comments and suggestions. And, thank you for posting this story on your blog! Best VA

    • August 4, 2010 12:55 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and visiting my blog! I will definitely share my successes (and likely mess ups) from your cookbook. And I can’t wait until your next one comes out.

  2. Dranny permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:37 am

    AHHA!!!!!!! So thats where my gold glasses made off to! I have been serching high and low for weeks now. Nobody had a clue where they might have walked off to, although I think your Mom just might have been keeping a deep dark ssecret she just kept walking around with a smirk on her face?!!Hummmmmmm I wonder! Oh well the corn chowder looks nummy licious in that attractive goblet!! I’m sure it helped the taste too.
    Still love ya though. Dranny

    • August 5, 2010 10:37 pm

      I think someone has an awfully convenient memory. =)

  3. Better Crocker Mom permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:19 am

    Well Dear, you know how it is with your Dranny! She is after all past 50……so she’s allowed to forget a thing or two. :-) Can not wait for the next trip too the test kitchen and what your gonna pull from your magic pot. I’m still doing the checken dance for you.

  4. Susan permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:34 am

    Best glasses ever!! I would steal those from anyone’s Dranny in a second!!

Leave a Reply

