Skip to content

Crab Rolls

September 2, 2010

Thanks to the marriage of two of my friends, I planned a vacation in Maine. This time two weeks ago, I was lazing about on Ogunquit Beach with two other friends, swimming and body surfing in the 59 degree Atlantic, and other assorted vacation activities. We also spent some time in Portland for the wedding itself.

And I’m sure it will come as no surprise that by “assorted vacation activities,” I actually mean eating and drinking.

Crab Roll. I made it. Corn on the cob, too. Like the teddy bear holders?

For example, there was the darned good pizza from Micucci’s; fancy grilled cheese with fancy sliced mushrooms at The Salt Exchange; a lobster bake for my friends’ wedding rehearsal dinner; frozen cosmos at The Front Porch; and brunch at The Porthole.

Of the dishes I tried, it’s the stupid crab roll I ate Barnacle Billy’s that’s been haunting me this past week.

A crab roll? Haunting me? The girl who doesn’t eat lobster, salmon, clams or just about any other kind of seafood for which Maine is famous? Yeah. Go figure.

Having had a little bit of time to reflect on this, I think it’s because it’s a sign of summer. Like Ellise over at Cowgirl Chef, I’m none to pleased to realize that summer is coming to a close in the too near future.

Whatever the reason for my obsession with the crab roll at Barnacle Billy’s, I decided to just make my own. Personally, I think I did a pretty darned good job of it, too.

Although, to be honest, it would’ve been about 25x better if I’d been eating it while sitting on a sunny deck overlooking the Atlantic. Course, that’s has about as much chance of happening here in Nebraska as getting ice water in Hades.

Steff’s Made Up Crab Roll Recipe
Makes about 2 rolls. Can be easily doubled or tripled or quadrupled, I’m sure.

1 6oz can of picked, clean crab claw meat (hi! I live in Nebraska, do you think we have fresh, never frozen crab here?)
1 tablespoon of Hellman’s or homemade mayonaisse
1 teaspoon lemon juice
Fresh cracked pepper
Zatarain’s Creole Seasoning (You could use Old Bay, too. I just didn’t have any in my cupboard.)

Stir all of the ingredients together. Serve on a fresh, good quality hot dog roll with or without an extra sprinkle of Zatarain’s Creole Seasoing on top. For the sides, serve corn on the cob and some pickles or whatever suits your fancy, and you are all set!

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Maxine permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:20 am

    Oh man that is making me hungry. Yes I love the bear corn holders.

  2. September 3, 2010 2:09 am

    Yes, yes, let’s keep pushing summer! More crab rolls! Corn on the cob with teddy bears! I love those bears, by the way… Also, I have corn envy. It’s just 9 am but the sight of melting butter on that cob is killing moi. Only corn you find around here is in a can and sprinkled on salads (!!). Help!

  3. Kori permalink
    September 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    Please bring crab rolls to our next meeting. Thanks for shring your creativity and being you.

  4. Better Crocker Mom permalink
    September 4, 2010 2:25 pm

    If you put just a little bit (1 tsp) of chow chow and about 1 Tbsp of diced onion too said mixture makes it even better. Oh Yeah, don’t forget the lemon!

Leave a Reply

