Skip to content

Homemade Bread! FTW!

September 23, 2010

If you’ve read some of my past work, you might’ve noticed I can be a little determined. I adhere to the try and try again rule. Okay. So maybe I don’t adhere to this rule so much as it really annoys me when a recipe goes wrong.

Pimento cheese? It took me a couple of recipes. Mayonnaise? That took me a couple of tries. Frying without injury? Yeah, well, I’m still working on that one.

Making homemade bread from scratch was my latest project gone awry.

Well, maybe not awry, but it didn’t go the way I thought it should. It was … okay. I just wasn’t that pleased with it.

So I tried again.

And I won! I won against the bread!

Homemade Bread. FTW!

This time, the bread rose higher. It wasn’t so dense as the first batch. It was just all around better. Even if my nighttime, no-natural-light-available photography doesn’t do it justice.

For the recipe, I used the white bread recipe in my Better Homes and Garden Cook Book. It’s pretty straightforward and has a great tip for knowing when the milk is warm enough to activate the yeast: when the butter just starts to melt, it’s warm enough. That’s practical in my books.

The one thing I need to work on the next time I make this bread is how I make the loaves themselves. When shaping the loaves, I didn’t knead out the wrinkles. This led to fault lines in the bread itself. The loaves hold together, but the slices break into pieces along the fault.

This isn’t a big deal though. I can deal with fault lines in my bread when it rises enough and isn’t too dense.

In fact, I think it’s time to grab a slice, toast it up, butter it and sprinkle cinnamon sugar on it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kori permalink
    September 23, 2010 7:47 am

    Yum! I admire your energy and talents for creating and writing about it.

    • September 23, 2010 8:51 am

      Thanks Kori! This is a great outlet for me and I love the challenge of it — even when I want to throttle the recipe for not working right. =)

  2. September 24, 2010 8:13 am

    This is what it’s all about, I’m convinced — making mistakes and then getting right back in the kitchen to try again. I spent all of Wednesday afternoon making Tarte Tatin, and after two miserable fails, I got it. Made the victory all that much sweeter. Like your bread, with butter/cinnamon/sugar. Love that little combo. ;)

  3. October 15, 2010 2:54 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  4. October 16, 2010 9:49 am

    I agree with what Cowgirl says! You’ve just got to roll up your sleeves and get back in the kitchen! Have you tried any of Peter Reinhart’s bread recipes? They’re pretty straightforward and I’ve screwed up only a few of them (I can’t seem to nail sourdoughs…grrr.). I highly recommend his book, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

