Skip to content

Kitchen Fallout…

October 23, 2010

I’ve had a falling out with my kitchen.

We’ve not been seeing eye-to-eye lately for some reason.

I’m not entirely certain why, but I think it has something to do with my work and travel schedule that’s been keeping me away from it for a while.

There’s also the burnout of dealing with stupid dishes that don’t wash themselves. And yet, for some reason, I still insist on making meals that use about five hundred pots, pans, utensils and more.

This week hasn’t been less busy, but I’ve put less pressure on myself to cook a real meal or to try something new-to-me. Honestly, I’m the only source of kitchen pressure so it’s a good thing I let up on myself. I even had a moment this week when I got home late from work, errands and the gym, and actually had the feeling of missing my kitchen.

This feeling of really *wanting* to be in my kitchen returned just in time too.

Tomorrow, I’m having some friends over for a little party, and I’m baking up a storm. On the menu are Red Velvet Cupcakes, Rosemary Cookies, Cheese Crackers and a Mimosa Bar.

None of this is new to me, but that’s okay. Because, just right now, I need a little bit of routine in my life if I’m really going to get back to taking on some new Kitchen Trials that don’t involve stand-offs between me, my imaginary assistant, my imaginary sous chef and my cat over who’s going to do the d***ed dishes.

Wish me luck! I think I might need it, especially if my imaginary sous chef gets sassy when I ask her to get the cupcakes tins.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kat permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:54 am

    I had a quite desperately poignant memory of laughing to the point of tears in your kitchen with you TWENTY YEARS AGO. What the?! With love…

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Kitchen Fallout… « The Kitchen Trials -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

