Skip to content

Carrot Habanero Soup

November 12, 2010

Here’s the truth. I love making soups, chilis, jambalayas and other assorted simmering one-pot wonder dishes.

Ina Garten’s Tomato Basil Soup? I can practically make it my sleep by now.

Jambalaya for a crew of hungry friends after a day of skiing? Absolutely. Consider it done and done with pleasure.

Chili or a big ol’ pot of beans? Talk about the perfect comfort food.

So when the #LetsLunch bunch hosted by the lovely Miss Cheryl Tan of A Tiger in the Kitchen decided that November’s post should be fall soups, I was just as pleased as can be.

For my contribution, I made Carrot Habanero Soup from Paula Disbrowe’s Cowgirl Cuisine.

Carrot Habanero Soup with a slice of homemade bread and parano cheese

This was the third recipe I’ve made from Paula’s cookbook (see my earlier Cowgirl Cuisine adventures), and I think it’s safe to say that I really like her cookbook because this recipe was as good as the first two.

As the title says, this recipe calls for carrots and habanero. It also calls for a whole assortment of other ingredients, including a leek, onion, a sweet potato, orange juice and assorted seasonings such as ginger, cumin and a touch of honey. And when all of the ingredients were simmered to perfection, I put it through the blender to give it the creamy texture. All of it adding up to a delicious dish that was even better the second day when all of the flavors had had time to settle in with one another.

The only thing I would have changed was how I used the habanero. In the recipe, Paula advises that you can pierce the two habanero chiles and float them in the soup while it’s simmering to help provide flavor and a milder kick of heat. I did this, not because I don’t like heat, but because I had one too many teeny-tiny cuts on my fingers and no gloves to wear while chopping the chiles. I decided it was smarter to float the chiles whole rather than dice them up and get habanero chile oil embedded in the cuts on my fingers and suffer through that pain.

Next time I make this, those chiles are getting chopped up, even if it means suffering a little for a great pot of soup.

And now, as Ellise at Cowgirl Chef has suggested, I’d like to raise a glass to the #LetsLunch bunch. Our group is growing and it’s so wonderful to meet with these friends who share a love of food and good recipes – even when we’re hundreds, if not thousands, of miles away from one another.

Cheers my friends! I look forward to many more wonderful meals “together.”

Other #LetsLunch Fall Soup Posts:

A Tiger in the Kitchen – Winter Melon Soup

Bon Vivant – Carrot Soup  and Chicharonnes

Cooking in the Fruit Bowl – Apple Beer Cheese Soup

Cowgirl Chef – Potimarron Soup

Dreaming of Pots and Pans – Roasted Tomato Soup

Free Range Cookies – Oven Baked Soup

ShowFood Chef – Chard and Mushroom Soup with Fregola

(more to come as more folks post their recipes over the day or visit the #LetsLunch Twitter hashtag for the latest news)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 7:42 am

    YUM. Even the color of this soup is warm. If I had a habanero, I’d make this right now. So please, if you would, have an extra bowl for me? (I’m with you on the meal-in-a-bowl idea – all I want to make right now is soups.)

  2. November 12, 2010 7:56 am

    I love the idea of adding habanero to carrot soup! The heat must mix nicely with the sweetness of the carrots. Great choice for a fall soup!

  3. November 12, 2010 8:44 am

    I love sweet and heat together. It really makes me want to simmer somthing on a stove!

  4. November 12, 2010 9:56 am

    I’m with @FreeRangeCookies — I love any combination of sweet and heat. This looks good — even better topped with bread and cheese as you have it in the picture! Thanks for sharing…and I agree — we should definitely raise a glass to our #LetsLunch bunch. I’ve loved lunching with you guys for more than a year now…cheers!

  5. November 12, 2010 10:45 am

    YES! I was hoping someone would post a carrot soup recipe. I’ve been looking for one ever since I had an amazing carrot, cilantro and jalapeno soup a few years ago… This looks amazing!

    Glass raised, #LetsLunch

  6. SpiceBites permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:20 am

    Yum! All the flavors just sound like a divine mix! I’m going to have to try it since I love hot habaneros :)

  7. November 13, 2010 6:20 pm

    Meant to comment on this yesterday, but I LOVE it! Carrots and spice. YES! :)

  8. November 15, 2010 11:48 am

    Holy Habanero, this looks good. The color is amazing and love the idea of having the pepper floating in the soup and the flavor just oozing out. Great idea, and very fun post!

  9. November 30, 2010 3:11 am

    It looks really healthy and tasty :) I once tried pumpkin + habanero it looked very much the same and is really tasty.

Trackbacks

  1. Potimarron Soup
  2. Let’s Lunch: Carrot Soup & Chicharonnes « Bon Vivant
  3. Oven baked soup « Free Range Cookies Blog
  4. Carrot Soup & Chicharonnes | Beyond [the Plate]

Leave a Reply

