Skip to content

Chili Hominy Casserole

December 11, 2010

Green Chile Hominy Casserole with Chorizo

Talk about a siren song of a recipe title.

Lisa over at Homesick Texan doesn’t just pack a punch; she packs one helluva a wallop.

Steff's Chili Hominy Casserole

When I saw this recipe, I didn’t even know where to start. I settled for wiping the drool from my chin first. Next, I moved on to writing down the handful of ingredients I needed to make this and ran out to the grocery store.

Now, for those of you who aren’t so sure why I had such a reaction, you need to know 1) I love hominy 2) I love casseroles 3) I love chorizo 4) green chiles would just make all of those even better and 5) the dish is covered in cheese. Cheese! The food of the gods.

List in hand, I headed to the store. Then I got there and started contemplating what I already had in the fridge at home. Two or three servings of homemade chili. The final servings of a huge pot of chili I had made.

As I thought about the leftovers, the potential for creating even more leftovers and the potential for waste, guilt hit me.

So, I bought some more cheese (because there’s no such thing as having too much cheese), a gallon of milk (because I drink milk like it’s going out of style) and some other essentials. And then I headed home to make a version of Lisa’s Green Chile Hominy Casserole with Chorizo.

Steff's Chili Hominy Casserole hot from the oven

In my version of Lisa’s dish, I started with approximately 3 cups of leftover chili that was heated in a cast-iron skillet until bubbly-ish. I then added two cans of drained hominy, about a cup of sour cream and a cup of shredded cheddar, and then I stirred it until everything was mixed evenly. I then removed the skillet from the burner and sprinkled another cup of cheddar on top. All of this was then put in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 or 15 minutes. The goal is melted, slightly crispy-edged cheese.

The end result was wonderful. It was hearty thanks to the chili and hominy. The cheddar and sour cream brought everything together. And I loved it.

While I would’ve loved to make Lisa’s recipe from scratch, it was so easy to make this cheatsy version with leftovers.

Regardless, I owe Lisa big time for the inspiration for my Chili Hominy Casserole and the inspiration to combine so many of my favorite foods into one dish.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 12:18 pm

    I love your twist on the casserole! Will definitely have to try next time I’ve got some leftover chili.

    • December 14, 2010 11:07 am

      Thanks! And thanks for the dinner inspiration. =)

Leave a Reply

