Skip to content

Berry-Lemonade Icebox Pie

June 11, 2011

Pie for lunch?

You don’t have to ask me twice.

Although, normally, when I’m having pie for lunch it’s a savory pot pie or quiche.

And you know, I even thought about making one of those for this month’s #LetsLunch gathering. I wanted to test my ability to make a pie crust from scratch, but then I got distracted by the summer features in Martha Stewart Living. And by distracted, I actually mean that I was sideswiped by a picture of a Strawberry-Lemonade Icebox Pie.

Berry-Lemonade Icebox Pie: My picture, not Martha's

I was so enthralled by the photo and description that I immediately flipped to the recipe, scribbled down the ingredients I needed and went to the store immediately.

And then, I got home and was distracted again. This time by work that needed to be done, but all those ingredients were just waiting for me to make this. And I finally did so on Thursday evening. But you know what stinks about Icebox Pie? The part where you have to wait for it to chill. By the time it had chilled, I was tucked into bed. And while I would have loved to have pie for breakfast, that wasn’t in the cards.

That’s okay though because this pie was worth the wait.

The graham cracker crust, the cheese cake-like texture of the lemonade pie filling and the berries tossed with in bit of sugar for the topping? Perfect. Just perfect. And just what I needed to bring some sunshine into a gloomy, overcast afternoon.

The recipe in Martha Stewart Living featured a strawberry topping and meringue, but as you can see I didn’t follow those directions. But I’m sure it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that just about any berries would be good on this and that meringue would be nice, but not necessary. Also, I didn’t really have the patience for that final step. I’d waited long enough.

The recipe for the pie is online at MarthaStewart.com. Be sure to check it out! And… Enjoy!

For those of you wondering about the #LetsLunch bunch. We’re a group of bloggers who gather for a virtual potluck each month to share recipes. This month recipe theme was pies, sweet or savory or both. Bloggers choice. You can meet us on Twitter by following the #LetsLunch hashtag. You can also read this month’s contributions by following the links below.

#LetsLunch Pies
A Tiger in the Kitchen – Japanese Curry Pot Pie
Beyond the Plate – Chicken Pot Pie
Caitlin Shetterly – Maine Summer Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
Can It You Nit! – Strawberry Pie in a Jar
Chez Us – Summer Chicken Pot Pie
Cooking in the Fruit Bowl – Three Recipe Lemon Meringue Pie
Dreaming of Pots & Pans – Chinese Sausage & Sweet Potato Hand Pies
Free Range Cookie – Dirt Pie with Compost Cookie Crust
Grongar – Spanakopita & Rhubarb Crisp
Hot Curries & Cold Beer – Pecan Pie
Monday Morning Cooking Club – Pilaf Pie with Chicken, Sultanas & Sweet Spices
ShowFood Chef – Nutella Hand Pies
Zest Bakery – Lime Custard & Curd Pie

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 2:52 pm

    Yes, lemonade pie would distract me too! This looks like a winner of a summer dessert.

  2. atigerinthekitchen permalink
    June 11, 2011 5:40 pm

    What Lisa said — looks like the perfect summer dessert! Definitely trying this as soon as I get home…xx

  3. June 11, 2011 9:04 pm

    Oh man, those blackberries just look so juicy! Love a pie covered in all those berries. If these are the choices you make while distracted, you’re doing just fine :D

  4. June 12, 2011 10:36 am

    Looks delicious! Oh yum….

  5. June 12, 2011 10:46 am

    Oh this looks delicioso! This post was worth the wait :)

  6. June 13, 2011 11:25 pm

    When life gives you lemons (and strawberries), I think it is obvious that you should make this. Sounds fab. Knowing me I’d have to make two, turn one into a semifredo pie, and leave the other to properly chill. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. Dirt Pie with Compost Cookie Crust « Free Range Cookies Blog
  2. Pie! Spanakopita and rhubarb crisp « GrongarBlog
  3. Strawberry Pie in Jars « Can It You Nit!
  4. Zest Bakery & Deli » Blog Archive » lime custard n curd pie
  5. Chicken Pot Pie | Beyond [the Plate]

Leave a Reply

