Skip to content

One-Pot Pasta with Spinach and Tomatoes

March 14, 2014

Lately, I’ve been making more of an effort to cook dinner at home and to prepare meals that’ll make good leftovers for lunch at work. My cookbook and magazine habit has been pretty darn helpful in this effort.

In particular, I’ve been ripping out roughly half of the recipes in Southern Living and Bon Appetit lately. And I’m even using the recipes. Well, some of them. Others are stacked very neatly just waiting for their turn.

But they’re going to have to wait a while, because this recipe for One-Pot Pasta with Tomato-Basil Sauce from Southern Living is my current favorite. In about two months, I’ve made it four or five times. And for a recipe that serves six that means I’ve basically been eating it every other day.

One-Pot Pasta with Spinach & Tomatoes

One-Pot Pasta with Spinach & Tomatoes

What I like about this recipe is that it’s rather forgiving if you don’t have all of the ingredients. For example, I don’t always have fresh basil, but dry spices like thyme and rosemary work fine. Same goes garlic; quite frankly, some nights I’m just too darned lazy to slice an onion and chop garlic and I just don’t add it. (what? like you don’t have lazy nights in the kitchen?)

I will say, don’t substitute the spinach for broccoli; it doesn’t quite work. Also, use a sturdy pasta that does well when cooked for a while. I use De Cecco’s Fusilli Corti Bucati, which has a 15 minute cook time (according to the box). I’ve tried a couple of other pastas, but they overcook or get a bit gummy. This pasta cooks up nicely and gives the dish an almost creamy texture.

When serving this dish, top it off with a grated hard cheese like Grana Padano or parmesan. You’ll be good to go for dinner and maybe have a dish or three leftover for lunch, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. purlbird permalink
    March 17, 2014 2:41 pm

    You had me with, “One-pot…”

  2. July 19, 2014 9:01 pm

    This sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

