Skip to content

Gazpacho: Round One

May 6, 2011

This weekend marks the opening of the Omaha Farmers Market. Early in the season though, especially when we’ve had such a cold, cruddy spring, the pickings will probably be limited. I’m confident that there will be tomatoes though. And probably lots of them.

I’m not complaining about the availability of tomatoes. The problem is I know I will buy a lot of them simply because they’ll be irresistible; I will, more than likely, buy more tomatoes than I can actually consume.

And then along came the #LetsLunch May assignment – Liquid Lunch!

Admittedly, when I first saw the words “Liquid Lunch,” my mind immediately leaped to cocktails. It wasn’t a far leap, as I’m sure y’all can understand, but then I read the rest of the info and realized the #LetsLunch bunch was getting into something a little more serious.

Our pal Karen has been on a liquid diet while going through cancer treatment. So our Liquid #LetsLunch posts this month are in her honor as she works on getting all better.

Which brings me back to those tomatoes. The tomatoes that I hate to see go bad because I’m so blinded by their beauty at the Farmers Market that I buy more than I can consume. It also reminds me of conversation I had (via Twitter) with Paula over at bell’alimento about a Gazpacho recipe she featured on her site and how easy it’d be to make it a Bloody Mary Gazpacho. A random thing to remember, but that’s how it goes.

Et voila! My Liquid #LetsLunch idea was born.

All things considered, I knew I’d need to make gazpacho a couple of times before really perfecting the flavor balance. This is a recipe that’s all about the veggies and getting the seasonings just right to bring out their best flavor.

So, last weekend, it was round one in the effort to perfect my gazpacho-making skills. I used Paula’s recipe (find it here), but substituted fresh tomatoes for the canned variety.

Lessons Learned:

  1. My blender is too small to make a batch of gazpacho as detailed in Paula’s recipe. I should’ve cut the recipe in half or blendered (yes, I know, that’s not actually a word) it in batches and combined it at the end.
  2. Tomatoes bought in late April, while pretty and tempting, don’t really have enough flavor for gazpacho.
  3. Chipotle Tabasco makes up for the flavor that spring tomatoes don’t have. So does some more salt and pepper.
Things I’ll Do Next Time:
  1. Make a smaller batch of gazpacho or blender the ingredients in batches.
  2. Hope for better, more summery tomatoes.
  3. Continue to use Chipotle Tabasco, because it makes just about everything better.
  4. Add vodka to make it a Bloody Mary Gazpacho.

If you’d like to read more posts from the #LetsLunch bunch, you can find us on Twitter using the #LetsLunch hashtag. I’ll also be adding links to group’s posts as I can.

More Liquid Lunch Ideas from the #LetsLunch Bunch!

A Tiger in the Kitchen – Miso-Bacon-Corn Chowder
Blog Well Done – Asparagus & Artichoke Bisque
Caitlin Shetterly on Tour – Spring Greens Soup
Chez Us – Mango Lassi
Cooking in the Fruit Bowl – Peanut Butter Espresso Smoothie
Cowgirl Chef – Cucumber-Avocado Gazpacho
Free Range Cookies – Crack Pie Inspired Shake
Hot Curries & Cold Beer – Spring Pea & Mint Soup
Showfood Chef – Nut Milk (tee hee hee!)
Wok Star – Turnip Pork Soup

PS – Sorry there aren’t any photos. I ran into some technical difficulties with my camera (i.e. my camera battery died and I was too hungry to wait for it to charge before eating and there hasn’t been a chance to recreate the moment since). =)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 1:11 pm

    I just took a long walk by the water in sunny NYC today and was thinking, it’s a perfect time for gazpacho! Thanks for sharing this recipe…can’t wait to try it. xx

  2. May 6, 2011 1:15 pm

    I love your posts about kitchen adventures & misadventures :) And yes, the best gazpacho are those made from sun-ripened summer tomatoes. Hmm, now I can’t wait to whip up a batch!

  3. May 6, 2011 1:22 pm

    oh thanks for this – can I just say “get in my belly!!”? :D

  4. May 6, 2011 2:59 pm

    Hmm, I love the recipe as given, but my eyes widen’ with the whole Bloody Mary Gazpacho idea – a healthy reason to have a cocktail. Lovin’it!

  5. May 6, 2011 3:45 pm

    I’ve never made gazpacho either! Good tips though to keep in mind…. my fiance LOVES bloody marys. I might have to try this for him!

  6. May 10, 2011 3:20 pm

    Hi Steff, newbie here on #LetsLunch. Your bio was funny about your kitchen adventures, I too started late in life and without much experience! My hubby is from Nebraska, so I feel you’re family, ha, ha. I love a cold Gazpacho in the summer but for some reason don’t make this. I love tomatoes too and hear what you’re saying about not being able to control buying them. Enjoying seeing all the different liquid lunches. Just going through them. Till the next one.

Trackbacks

  1. A crack pie-inspired shake « Free Range Cookies Blog
  2. Spring Greens Soup For Lets Lunch! | Tour Blog
  3. A crack pie-inspired shake

Leave a comment