Skip to content

Fudgie No Bake Cookies

August 13, 2010

Fudgie No Bake Cookies: Drink 'em with milk

Fudgie No Bake Cookies.

These words alone bring back a lot of childhood memories.

For example, me standing at my Mom’s side watching her make the cookies; asking if I could test them while the butter, peanut butter and other ingredients were melting together; hovering over the cookies while they cooled and set up; and fighting my brother for the first, last and every cookie in between.

Hmm… Actually, this set of memories might not be too different from a whole lot of other memories. Although, I do remember having to fight my brother back from my share of Fudgie No Bake Cookies with a lot more effort since these were his favorite cookies. I’m sure our Mom just loved that part of making these … or not.

Actually, what my Mom loves about these cookies (aside from the fact that my brother and I loved ’em) is that making them requires no oven. And when it is blisteringly hot aside, cookies that require no oven are just the thing.

So, when the #LetsLunch bunch voted in favor of summer desserts, Fudgie No Bake Cookies were the first thing I thought to make.

The recipe is simple and only requires a little bit of time (maybe about five or 10 minutes) melting some of the key ingredients on stovetop.

My recipe is below, but if you want to see what other members of the #LetsLunch bunch are making here are some links:

A Tiger in the Kitchen — Lemongrass Frozen Yogurt
Bon Vivant — Summer Berry Granita & Roasted White Peaches
Cowgirl Chef — Watermelon Granita
Free Range Cookies — How to Make Ice Cream in the Dryer (no, that’s not a typo)
ShowFood Chef — Duo of Melon Fresca with Blackberry Granita

More #LetsLunch bunch posts are coming, I know. If you’re not on this list already, just holler.

Also, I’m thinking I might’ve missed something or forgotten something about our #LetsLunch. I heard summer, but did I forget they were supposed to be frozen or chilled desserts? Hmm… Oh well. Not like I like to follow the rules on a normal day anyhow. =)

My Mom’s Fudgie No Bake Cookies
This is my Mom’s recipe. There are many others like it out there. I’m not 100 percent sure if my Mom remembers where she found hers. If I had to bet, I’d guess it came from Hershey cocoa package or one of my Mom’s five bazillion cookbooks. If I solve this mystery, I’ll be sure to share.

2 cups sugar
4 tablespoons cocoa
1/2 cup Peter Pan peanut butter* (crunchy is best)
1/2 cup milk
1 stick (1/2 cup) Blue Bonnet margarine*
3 cups dry, quick oatmeal
1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)
1/2 cup flaked coconut (optional, but highly recommended)

Mix sugar, cocoa, peanut butter, milk and margarine together in a medium or large, heavy-bottom sauce pan until everything has melted together. You’ll have to stir it up quite a bit to get everything mixed together.

When everything has melted together, let it boil for about 1 minute.

Remove the pan from the heat. Stir in the oatmeal, nuts and coconut.

Drop by spoonfuls on wax paper to set.

Remember: The bigger the cookie, the longer it’ll take to set up and the longer it’ll take before you can eat them in all their glory.

You might also want to take into account how warm your kitchen is. In the middle of summer, unless your A/C is running full blast, it could take a while for the cookies to cool off and set up if you leave them on the counter. If you’re impatient, you might want to give them some time in the fridge to speed up the process.

*As noted on my Disclosure page, I work for ConAgra Foods. Peter Pan peanut butter and Blue Bonnet margarine are brands made by company.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 12:51 pm

    These look delicious! And they sound so easy to make … I love it. Thanks for sharing, Steff! I’m so glad we got Let’s Lunch going again…it’d been too long! xx

  2. August 13, 2010 1:20 pm

    Oh my gosh, I want one of these right now (and yes, I did just now eat an entire pizza, but one does need dessert, right?)!!! I will love making these, because X doesn’t like peanut butter, silly Frenchie that he is…more for me! And PS, Peter Pan was my childhood PB fave. Crunchy, of course!

  3. September 3, 2010 9:20 am

    wow – even my significant other could make these – of course, I wouldn’t get to sample any then! Nice post.

  4. Better Crocker Mom permalink
    September 4, 2010 2:36 pm

    Mystery solved!!!!! This recipe came from The Golden Spread Coolbook. It’s the yellow one from Texhoma. You member, the one you took time from your busy play time to scribble over a few page’s of the book, showing me which recipe’s too try next…..your taste even then ran too the Mexican side. Don’t forget too try drifferent flavoered chocolate chips in this one. yummygood!!

  5. Mary Lou Johnson permalink
    September 25, 2010 10:12 am

    I guess I should confess and tell you about the first time I tried to make some yeast rolls. I was in 4-H, I was at my Grandmother’s at Independence, KS. My Mom was in the hosptial, so my Grandmother was helping me. It said to soften the yeast in warm water, so I ran the water out of the hot water faucet. After I got them mixed up, I waited and waited for them to rise. Finally, my Grandmother ask me if I used hot water to soften the yeast. Well, the hot water had killed the yeast. We threw them out to the chickens and they could hardly eat them!

    Your pictures are good. Maybe you should have a job at “Taste of Home” taking pictures of the finished product.

    Love, You, Grandma.

  6. Pat permalink
    October 6, 2011 6:43 am

    I began making these for my son by the mid 70s- a recipe i’d had for awhile from a southern peanut cookbooklet which I still have (falling apart) another good recipe is mushroom soup porkchops and 1 chopped onion plus peanut butter. Yes peanut butter- bake for about an hour and it morphs MMMm- I have digressed :D… fudgies are STILL what I make when time and energy are limited though I use more peanut butter, put in raisins sometimes and cut the sugar 1/4 cup and toss in up to a cup more oatmeal- press it in to a 9 inch pan. goes in fridg then – try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s Lunch: Summer Berry Granita & Roasted White Peaches « Bon Vivant
  2. Summer Berry Granita & Roasted White Peaches | Beyond [the Plate]

Leave a comment